Fleets Join Officers Search Tech Notes Projects Forum Ship's Store
Join the Fleet to Access the Tech Notes OnLine!

Owners Self-Help

The C34 owners listed have specifically offered to share information with other C34 owners concerning the topics listed here. If you'd like some information and tips on one of these topics, click an e-mail address to send a message. If the e-mail address is no longer valid, please send e-mail to the Webmaster. 

Please make your experience and expertise available by adding your name to this list.

Note: Look for someone who has the same year or model of C34 that you own; there are significant differences in some areas between the original C34, transitional models, and Mark IIs. For more information, see the C34 History page.

TOPIC CONTACT
Autopilot, Autohelm 4000 1986: Gary and Deva Wilson (Gwilson@cco.net)
1989: Hal and Lin Johnson
(hwjiii@aol.com)
1992: Bill Quinn (bquinn@cybersurf.net)
Air conditioning, improving insulation for 1988: Ron Euler (sunshinesports@sprintmail.com)
Air conditioning, installation tips 1989: Lee and Janice Himes (himes20904@aol.com)
1992: Dot and Bill Beck (dcbecksam@erols.com)
1998: Glend and Carol Abbotts (
jaitexas@msn.com)
Air conditioning, separate 110v circuit 1988: Ron Euler (sunshinesports@sprintmail.com);
1991: Jack and Ann Mansfield ( asailorir@aol.com)   
Air conditioning, reverse cycle w/heat pump 1988: Ron Euler (sunshinesports@sprintmail.com);
1988: Bryan and Suzanne Pfaffenberger (bp@virginia.edu)
1988: Richard Matthews (richardmatthews@hotmail.com)
1991: Jack and Ann Mansfield ( asailorir@aol.com)   
Alternator, upgrade 1987: Thomas Leising (tleising@natraffic.com);
1988: Bryan and Suzanne Pfaffenberger (bp@virginia.edu)
Anchor, 22lb Bruce 1988: DeVere Lindh (devere@foxcomm.net);
1988: Bryan and Suzanne Pfaffenberger (bp@virginia.edu)   
Anchor, 33lb Bruce 1988: Len and Ursula Bates (lbates@can.eds.com)  
Anchor, 35lb CQR 1988: Steve & Vickie Gehrke (sgehrke@mail.tstonramp.com);
1988: Bryan and Suzanne Pfaffenberger (bp@virginia.edu)
Anchor, 35lb Delta 1987:David and Stacy Aucella (DAucella@aol.com)
Anchor Well Pump 1995:Donald and Dayle Wilder (donald_e_wilder@groton.pfizer.com)
Backstay tensioner 1990: Rod & Annie Van Tol (rvantol@aol.com
Battery, 2nd battery bank installation 1986: Mitch Waldman and Roberta Arnold (mbwaldman@aol.com)
Battery, #2 cable 1991: Jack and Ann Mansfield (asailorir@aol.com)  
Battery, golf cart 1989: Hank Recla  (hjrecla@erols.com);
1990: Jeff Rinne (JCB4912@AOL.COM);
1991: Jack and Ann Mansfield ( asailorir@aol.com)   
Battery, monitor 1988: DeVere Lindh (devere@foxcomm.net);
1988: Gerry & Judy Greth (gerrygreth@earthlink.net)   
Battery, separate starting 1989: Hank Recla  (hjrecla@erols.com)    
Beckson port, gasket replacement 1990: Jeff Rinne (JCB4912@AOL.COM)
Blisters, repair 1986: Mark Lasser (marksail34@aol.com)
Boom vang, rigid 1988: Len and Ursula Bates (lbates@can.eds.com);
1990: Rod & Annie Van Tol (rvantol@aol.com)     
Bow roller, anchor 1987: David and Stacy Aucella (DAucella@aol.com);
1988: Len and Ursula Bates (lbates@can.eds.com);
1988: Steve & Vickie Gehrke (sgehrke@mail.tstonramp.com)
Cabin sole, refinishing 1986: Joe and Teri Kanan (jkanan03@sprynet.com)
Cable TV, wiring for 1988: Ron Euler (sunshinesports@sprintmail.com)
Cellular phone with masthead-mount antenna 1988: Ron Euler (sunshinesports@sprintmail.com)
CD player, installation 1987: Steven and Carolyn Ritter (ritter@netmagic.net)
Charger,  installation 1986: Mitch Waldman and Roberta Arnold (mbwaldman@aol.com) ;
1992: Leo & Emma Missler (DutchLion1@aol.com)  
Cockpit speakers, installation 1987: Steven and Carolyn Ritter (ritter@netmagic.net);
1988: Mark and Norma Van Bunnen (markv@midusa.net)
Cockpit grate, teak 1988: Bill & Diane Hendrick (Ld561.nb@aol.com)
Cockpit table, teak 1988: Bill & Diane Hendrick(Ld561.nb@aol.com)
Control panel upgrade (Seaward) 1988: Bill & Diane Hendrick (Ld561.nb@aol.com)
1988: David Feit, Richard Reynolds, Jordan Alpert (d.feit@worldnet.att.net);
1986: Frankd an Carleen Kulscar (
frankkul@prodigy.com)


Also see Wiring harness upgrade

Counter top, removal and replacement 1986: Alan & Michele Watson (alwsail@aol.com)
Cruising, modifications for extended 1987: Tim and Sharon Jacobsen (tjjcpa@aol.com);
1987: Sue & Earle Howey (earle@silcom.com) and Ann & Chuck Barnes
Cutlass bearing, replacement 1990: Jeff Rinne (JCB4912@AOL.COM)
1987: Bruce and Pat Given
(b_given@compuserve.com)
Davits 1986: Robert and Sharon Mack (Robert.Mack@digital.com)
1988: Lee and Janice Himes (himes20904@aol.com)
1992: Bill Quinn (bquinn@cybersurf.net)
Deck Replacement E.J. and Russ Malone (rmalone@aol.com)
Dodger, installation 1988: Steve & Vickie Gehrke (sgehrke@mail.tstonramp.com)
Downrigger rail, salmon fishing 1987: Howard F. Robinson (HRRX@aol.com)
Dutchman sail flaking system 1987: Steven and Carolyn Ritter (ritter@netmagic.net);
1988: Bryan & Suzanne Pfaffenberger ( bp@virginia.edu
Electrical, General 1987: Bruce Cohn (bruce.cohn@csfb.com)
1987: Russ and Catherine (fainche@srynet.com)
1987: Mike and suzie Johnson (mjohnson@flcrm.com)
1988: Michael and Connie Mingham (
mingham@csi.com)
1989: Phillip Klein (pklein@interaccess.com)
1989: James Moe (jmoe@worldnet.att.net)
1990: Nelson Yaple (
nelson_yaple@ccm.al.intel.com)
Engine, overheating 1987: Richard & Carol Dwyer ( rpdiii@aol.com )
EPIRB 1988: Ron Euler (sunshinesports@sprintmail.com)
Exhaust riser replacement 1986: Mitch Waldman and Roberta Arnold (mbwaldman@aol.com)  
Folding prop See Prop, folding
Fuel tanks, auxiliary 1988: Steve & Vickie Gehrke (sgehrke@mail.tstonramp.com)
Genoa car, adjustable 1990: Rod & Annie Van Tol (rvantol@aol.com
Genset, high-output 1988: Steve & Vickie Gehrke (sgehrke@mail.tstonramp.com)
GPS Cockpit Installation 1994: Joe and Ellie Susmeyer (jsusmeyer@aol.com)
Head, Counter Top 1987: Bruce and Pat Given (b_given@compuserve.com)
Head, Hlectric 1987:Christopher H. Peteros (xaptyn@aol.com)
Head, Replacement 1989: jOAN AND eD SHANKLE (ejshankle@aol.com)
Heater, cabin 1988: DeVere Lindh (devere@foxcomm.net)  
Inverter, 2000w 1988: Gerry & Judy Greth (gerrygreth@earthlink.net)
Inverter 1987: Linda & Pete Smullen (psmullen@connstep.org);
1988: Gerry & Judy Greth (gerrygreth@earthlink.net);
1989: Hank Recla  (hjrecla@erols.com);
1992: Leo & Emma Missler (DutchLion1@aol.com)
Inverter, separate 110v outlets 1988: Ron Euler (sunshinesports@sprintmail.com)
Interior Varnishing 1992: Keith Wallwork (wallwork@mackay.net.au)
1994: Don and Susan Esposito (chirugo@mail.valuu.net)
Lettering, removal and replacement 1988: Randy and Robin Broach (rbsigns@bellsouth.net)
Lightning, negative line cutoff switch to protect electronics 1988: Ron Euler (sunshinesports@sprintmail.com)
Liveaboard, modifications 1987: Tim and Sharon Jacobsen (tjjcpa@aol.com);
1987: Sue & Earle Howey (earle@silcom.com) and Ann & Chuck Barnes
Mainsail, EZ Jack flaking system 1992: Leo & Emma Missler (DutchLion1@aol.com)
Mainsail, full batten, replacement 1987: Steven and Carolyn Ritter (ritter@netmagic.net);
1988: Bryan & Suzanne Pfaffenberger ( bp@virginia.edu
Mainsail, furling, pros and cons 1992: Ron & Sharon Statham (rstatham@nanaimo.ark.com)
Martini, perfect 1986: Joyce & Paul Sellon (PAS60@aol.com)
Microwave, installation 1988: Steve & Vickie Gehrke (sgehrke@mail.tstonramp.com)
Prop, folding (Martec) 1986: Joe and Teri Kanan (jkanan03@sprynet.com)
1987: Bruce and Pat Given (b_given@compuserve.com
)  
1988: Clarence "Skip" Rudy (crudy19@idt.net);
1988: Ron Euler (sunshinesports@sprintmail.com);
1990: Rod & Annie Van Tol (rvantol@aol.com)
  
Prop, singing or whine 1990: Jeff Rinne (JCB4912@AOL.COM)
Propane tanks, enlarging capacity 1988: Bill & Diane Hendrick
Radar 1986: Ralph and Anne Neiger (ralfswyc@40pacbell.net);
1992: Bill Quinn (bquinn@cybersurf.net)
Rebedding, stanchions 1987:Christopher H. Peteros (xaptyn@aol.com)
Reefing, single-line 1988: Gerry & Judy Greth (gerrygreth@earthlink.net)
Refrigeration, improving efficiency 1988: Tim Dick (telebyte@aol.com)
1987: Chap Hodges (
mailto:demosabe@gnt.net)
Refrigeration, Norcold 1990: Andrew & Michelle Shooks (AShooks@aol.com)
Rigging Mark Lasser (mailto:marksail34@aol.com)
Roller furling, single-line Hood replacement for continous-line system 1987: Steven and Carolyn Ritter (ritter@netmagic.net);
1988: Bryan & Suzanne Pfaffenberger ( bp@virginia.edu
Sail Management 1987: Waltern and JoAnna Moore (skipmore@prodigy.com)
1989: John and Rita O'brien (
jto81353@aol.com)
1989: Len and ursula Bates (lbates@can.eds.com)
1999: Tony and Kris Crimi (crimi001@tc.umn.edu)
Seaward wiring harness upgrade See Wiring harness upgrade
Shelves, metal sliding in nav closet 1986: Alan & Michele Watson (alwsail@aol.com)
Sole, Cabin 1987: Bob Lasser (drwindow@frontiernet.net)
1988: Bob Hackett (
ragbagger2@aol.com)
1994: Rick and Cath Garner (rick9651@alaska.net)
Storage 1987: Carol and Scot Corey (happywandr@aol.com)
Spinnaker 1988: Ron Euler (sunshinesports@sprintmail.com)
1990: Clifford Rieders (
criedrs@csrilink.net)
Storage, additional drawer under aft berth 1988: Ron Euler (sunshinesports@sprintmail.com)
Storage, additional drawers in V-berth 1988: Ron Euler (sunshinesports@sprintmail.com)
Table, salon, enlargement for seating diners on port side berth 1993: Don & Judy Wiesner (DWiesner@aol.com)
Table, salon, modification 1987: Randy and Dean Fragoules (rfrpg@centuryinter.net)
1988: Steve & Vickie Gehrke (sgehrke@mail.tstonramp.com)
1988: Re and Frank Leister (
leisterf@fuse.net)
1993: Don and Jerry Wiesner (dwiesner@aol.com)
Table, salon, replacement with smaller table 1988: Gerry & Judy Greth (gerrygreth@earthlink.net)
Teak, finishing Mike and Peggy Blackard (blackard1@aol.com)
Telephone, wiring for 1988: Ron Euler (sunshinesports@sprintmail.com)
Transmisssion, Draining 1987: Richard and Carol Dwyer (rpdiii@aol.com)
Traveler, upgrade 1991: Mark Weitkamp  (mark_weitkamp@ccm.fm.intel.com)   
TV/VCR 1988: Ron Euler (sunshinesports@sprintmail.com)
1992: Gary Schneider
(gary_i_schneider@email.whirlpool.com)
1997: Matt and Rhoda Ezra (mattezra@aol.com)
Vang See Boom vang
Voyaging 1987: Glen Herman (glenherman@hotmai.com)
1987: Sue and Earle Howey (earle@silcom.com)
Voyaging, British Columbia 1987: Brian Giovannetti (blg@direct.ca)
Voyaging, Chesapeake 1987: Jules (Jay) Levine (juleslvan@aol.com)
1991: Ken and Pay Reynolds (
kenreynolds@aol.com)
Voyaging, Lake Michigan 1993: Tom and sherry Driesenga (tdriese@ibm.net)
Voyaging, New England 1987: Bob and Sue Duffy (rduffey656@aol.com)
1988: Carol and Psousa (
cesousa@banet.net)
Voyaging, Pacifice NW 1995: Thomas Waggener (ifsawagg@msn.com)
Voyaging, Pamlico Sound 1998: Re and Frank Leister (leisterf@fuse.net)
Voyaging, San Francisco Bay 1988: Norvell Knutsen (nknutsen@aol.com
VHF radio, cockpit speaker installation 1988: Ron Euler (sunshinesports@sprintmail.com)
Washdown pump, seawater 1995: Donald and Dayle Wilder (donald_e_wilder@groton.pfizer.com)
Water heater, replacement 1987: Richard & Carol Dwyer ( rpdiii@aol.com )
1987: Phil Imhof (
excalibur@mssa.org)
Water system, complete re-plumb 1986: Alan & Michele Watson (alwsail@aol.com)
1986: Horace Duncan (
hwduncan@aol.com)
Whisker pole 1988: John Hakemian and Kay Brawley (sailorjohn@mindspring.com);
1988: Gerry & Judy Greth (gerrygreth@earthlink.net)
Windlass 1987: Al and Muriel Lively (ygzt49a@prodigy.com)
1988: Mike and Jan smith (
mikejansmi@aol.com)
Winterizing 1986: Mark Lasser (marksail34@aol.com)
Wiring harness upgrade 1986: Bill and Nina Collins (616-972-7672)
1987: Steven and Carolyn Ritter (ritter@netmagic.net);
1987: Phil Imhof (excalibur @mssa.org);
1987: Rand and Dean Fragoules (rfrog@centuryinter.net)
1988: John Murray (salrman@aol.com)
1988: John Caruso and Lynn Merritt (rxc@nrc.gov)
1988: Clarence "Skip" Rudy (crudy19@idt.net);
1988: Bill and Diane Hendrick (Ld561.nb@aol.com)
1988: Ron Euler (sunshinesports@sprintmail.com)
1989: Hank Recla (hjrecla@erols.com)
1989: Don and Bobbie Wilson (bwil@global2000.net)
1989: James Moe (jmoe@worldnet.att.net)
1990: Jeff Rinne (JCB4912@AOL.COM);
1991: Mark Weitkamp  (mark_weitkamp@ccm.fm.intel.com)   

 

 

Last modified by Bob Kuba, Tuesday, July 7, 2009 . Copyright 2001 by Catalina 34 International Association.  All rights reserved.